In Memphis and Nashville, here are the schools eligible — and no longer eligible — for state intervention

Tennessee’s Achievement School District (ASD) plans to expand its footprint in Memphis and Nashville under the state’s school improvement initiative, but it’s still being determined which schools and neighborhoods will be impacted.

Priority schools, which are the lowest-performing 5 percent of Tennessee schools in terms of academic achievement, are eligible for intervention by the state-run district, which annually identifies candidates for conversion to charter schools through ASD-authorized operators.

Based on the state Department of Education’s 2014-15 report card released in July, the list below provides a snapshot of ASD eligibility and defines the parameters for the next round of ASD intervention, which is authorized by state law in response to the federal Race to the Top initiative.

Memphis/Shelby County Schools

These priority schools remain eligible for state intervention:

  • Caldwell Guthrie Elementary School
  • Carver High School
  • Douglass High School
  • Hawkins Mill Elementary School
  • Hillcrest High School
  • Holmes Road Elementary School
  • Kirby Middle School
  • Northside High School
  • Raleigh Egypt Middle School
  • Sheffield Elementary School
  • Westwood High School


By scoring in the top 15th percentile of growth on the state’s most recent standardized test, two Memphis schools are no longer eligible for state intervention and will remain under the purview of Shelby County Schools:

  • Springdale Elementary School
  • City University Boys Preparatory Schools

Due to a new state law that prevents the ASD from assuming control of schools that had above-average TVAAS growth scores, seven other Memphis schools also removed themselves from eligibility and will remain within Shelby County Schools:

  • A. Maceo Walker Middle School
  • American Way Middle School
  • Georgian Hills Middle School
  • LaRose Elementary School
  • Mitchell High School
  • Raleigh-Egypt High School
  • Woodale High School

Metropolitan Nashville Public Schools

These priority schools remain eligible for state intervention:

  • Buena Vista Enhanced Option Elementary School
  • Inglewood Elementary School
  • Joelton Middle Prep
  • John B. Whitsitt Elementary School
  • Napier Enhanced Option Elementary School
  • Pearl-Cohn Entertainment Magnet High School
  • Madison Middle School


Three Nashville schools removed themselves from eligibility and will remain with Metro Nashville Public Schools because they had above-average TVAAS growth scores:

  • Bailey STEM Magnet Middle School
  • Jere Baxter Middle School
  • Robert Churchwell Museum Magnet Elementary School

Eligible priority schools can be matched with approved charter operators in the 2016-2017 school year through the ASD’s revised community input process, which will run from August to December.

The Achievement School District currently oversees 27 schools in Memphis and two in Nashville.

To learn more, visit the state Department of Education’s webpage on school accountability.