Midterm Elections 2022: Voting results for school boards in Marion County

election signs outside the county-city building
Across Marion County, 47 candidates are running for 29 positions on school boards. (Amelia Pak-Harvey / Chalkbeat)

This story has been updated with certified election results from Nov. 21.

Most of the incumbents running in Marion County school board races won reelection on Tuesday, and newcomer Hope Hampton won the only contested race for the Indianapolis Public Schools board, per election results.

And in the Metropolitan School District of Decatur Township, Steven Chase Lyday topped incumbent Jimmy Ray by one vote to join the board; Ray was the only incumbent on the Decatur school board who lost.

There were 47 candidates on ballots for 29 school board positions in Marion County on Tuesday. While 11 candidates, mostly incumbents,  were running unopposed, a vast majority faced at least some opposition. Roughly half of the school board candidates were incumbents. 

Indianapolis Public Schools was the only district where no incumbents were on the ballot.

The role of the school board is not day-to-day operations, but rather district oversight, creating and enforcing policy, making sure bills are paid and employing a superintendent. School board races are non-partisan.

Winning candidates will start four-year terms in January. 

Below is a list of results by district. The Marion County Election Board certified results on Nov. 21 and no candidates sought a recount or contested the election by the Nov. 22 deadline, said Brent Stinson, the board’s deputy director, in an email to Chalkbeat Indiana.

Beech Grove

At-large (Top three candidates win.) 

Rob Challis (I) 33.15%

Jannis King (I) 32.52%

Rick Skirvin (I) 34.33%

Decatur Township

At-large (Top three candidates win.)

Judith Collins (I) 27.27%

Dale Henson (I) 26.43%

Steven Chase Lyday 23.16%

Jimmy Ray (I) 23.15%

Franklin Township

Southeast district

Larry J. Walker (I) 100%

Northeast district

Andrew Filler 47.75%

Zach Smith Howard (I) 52.25%

At-large (Top candidate wins.)

Dawn Downer (I) 46.04%

Tim McVey 45.89%

Adrian D. Pettis Sr. 8.07%


District 3

Hope Hampton 55.17%

Kristen Phair 44.83%

District 5

Nicole Carey 100%


Angelia Moore 100%

Lawrence Township

District 2

Patricia Brenamen 17.39%

Janet Jacobs 34.3%

Marta Lawrence 35.06%

Nichole Sledge 13.25%

At-large (Top candidate wins.)

Morgan Bailey 13.7%

Jessica Dunn 42.18%

Reginald McGregor (I) 29.64%

Jennifer Tursi 14.47%

Perry Township

At-large (Top three candidates win.)

Cameron Clark 14.98%

James Hernandez (I) 15.23%

Chris Lewis 15.77%

Hre Mang 18.37%

Lee Shively (I) 17.75%

Samuel Snideman (He ended his campaign and won’t serve if elected.) 6.97%

Astin Vick 10.93%

Pike Township

At-large (Top three candidates win.)

Alonzo Anderson (I) 27.37%

Guy Lowry 17.66%

Wayne Moore 26.35%

Terry Webster (I) 28.62%

Warren Township

At-large (Top three candidates win.)

Terri L. Amos (I) 26.25%

Rachel Burke (I) 30.96%

Kevin Humphrey 25.1%

Dennis Orellana (I) 17.69%

Washington Township

District 2

Kristina Frey 56.12%

Donald Kite (I) 43.88%

At-large (Top candidate wins.)

William (Bill) Turner (I) 100%

Wayne Township

At-large (Top four candidates win)

Brandon Bowman (I) 26.1%

Raimeka Graham (I) 24.71%

Michael D. Nance (I) 25.12%

Benjamin Wakefield (I) 24.07%

*(I) indicates the incumbent candidate.

Speedway Schools is not included in this list because the school board is appointed by the town board, not elected. 

MJ Slaby is the bureau chief for Chalkbeat Indiana. Contact MJ at mslaby@chalkbeat.org.

The Latest

Seeking culturally relevant lessons or hoping to better serve student needs, many educators make changes to curriculum. Experts worry about drifting too far from standards.

The public school district rehired Mary Bennett and Raymond Lindgren to consult on career and technical education programs and to support ongoing school construction projects.

A report from the testing group NWEA also estimates that Hispanic students in particular need more academic support during their recovery from the pandemic.

State officials acknowledged that some students still have commutes over an hour, but said they believe the district has made ‘sufficient progress.’

The vice president has championed more funding for high-poverty schools, Head Start, and school desegregation efforts. Those positions will likely face political headwinds if she wins.

In addition to bolstering literacy, the district says the instructional strategies will promote other IPS goals like advancing racial equity.