clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Our Staff

Leadership Team

Photo of Chalkbeat’s leadership team.
From left to right (top): Elizabeth Green, Co-Founder and CEO, Nicole Avery Nichols, Editor in Chief, Jennifer Bramble, Chief People Officer, (bottom) Bene Cipolla, Publisher, Alison Go, Chief Strategy Officer, Kendra Irving, Chief Financial Officer.

Elizabeth Green COFOUNDER & CEO egreen@chalkbeat.org

Elizabeth Green is the CEO and co-founder of Chalkbeat. She is also the cofounder and board chair of the American Journalism Project, the first venture philanthropy firm dedicated to local news. Elizabeth’s book Building a Better Teacher was a New York Times bestseller and notable book of 2014. She has also written about education issues for The New York Times Magazine, U.S. News & World Report, and other publications. Elizabeth has been a Spencer Fellow in education journalism at Columbia University and an Abe Journalism Fellow studying education in Japan.

Nicole Avery Nichols EDITOR-IN-CHIEF nvavery@chalkbeat.org

Nicole Avery Nichols —a journalist, storyteller, and media manager proficient in coalition building — is the editor-in-chief of Chalkbeat. Nicole started her career as a weekend reporter at the Observer-Dispatch in upstate New York more than two decades ago. As a reporter for various newspapers and magazines, Nicole has covered everything from immigrant resettlement to the Million Man March to the desperate search for lost loved ones after the 9/11 terrorist attacks. While rising through the editing ranks at the Detroit Free Press in the 2000s, she coordinated coverage of the coronavirus pandemic, the #MeToo movement, the opioid crisis, and much more. Nicole’s favorite journalism centers people, and her work continuously amplifies the voices of those who have historically been forced to whisper. A native New Yorker, Nicole completed her undergraduate studies at Tuskegee University and earned her master’s degree from the S.I. Newhouse School of Public Communications at Syracuse University.

Jennifer Bramble CHIEF PEOPLE OFFICER jbramble@chalkbeat.org

Prior to joining Chalkbeat, Jennifer Bramble served as chief talent officer of Richmond Public Schools, in Richmond, VA. With over twenty-five years’ experience serving mission-driven organizations, she specializes in human capital strategy, diversity, equity, and inclusion. As vice president of human resources with Community Health Accreditation Partner and assistant director of talent management at the National Committee for Quality Assurance, Jennifer spearheaded multifaceted talent development initiatives. A certified executive coach, she uses strength-based leadership development in coaching and mentoring professionals at all organizational levels. Jennifer holds a Bachelor of Arts degree in Business Management and a Master of Arts in Public Administration from Washington Adventist University.

Bene Cipolla PUBLISHER bcipolla@chalkbeat.org

Bene Cipolla has over a decade of experience as a reporter, writer and editor and has been published in the New York Times, Washington Post, Chicago Tribune, Time, Fortune, and Sports Illustrated. She started her career covering the Vatican in Rome and worked as an editor at major magazines in New York, including Cosmopolitan. She has also led content development for several digital startups, most recently Birchbox, with a focus on growing readership and engagement. Bene is a graduate of Princeton University and was a Fulbright Scholar in Italy.

Alison Go CHIEF STRATEGY OFFICER ago@chalkbeat.org

Alison Go is Chalkbeat’s chief strategy officer and co-founder of Votebeat. Previously, she was a product manager at Amazon, Facebook, and several venture capital-funded startups. Alison received her MBA from the Wharton School and a bachelor’s degree from the University of Michigan. In a former life, she was a reporter and copy editor at U.S. News & World Report, the Boston Globe, and the San Jose Mercury News.

Kendra Irving CHIEF FINANCIAL OFFICER kirving@chalkbeat.org

Kendra Irving is a CPA with over twenty years of experience as a finance executive overseeing complex financial reporting and analysis efforts. Prior to joining Chalkbeat, she held the roles of Vice President at the John Gore Organization and Director at HBO where she headed the finance functions with focus on strategic partnering and people-focused leading. Her financial management and business acumen have supported critical long-term business and financial decisions. She started her career at Ernst & Young, LLP as an auditor of clients in the consumer products industry and nonprofit sector. Kendra is a graduate of the University at Buffalo and holds an MBA from NYU.


Editorial

Marta W. Aldrich SENIOR STATEHOUSE CORRESPONDENT, CHALKBEAT TENNESSEE maldrich@chalkbeat.org

Reema Amin REPORTER, CHALKBEAT NEW YORK ramin@chalkbeat.org

Aleksandra Appleton REPORTER, CHALKBEAT INDIANA aappleton@chalkbeat.org

Melanie Asmar SENIOR REPORTER, CHALKBEAT COLORADO masmar@chalkbeat.org

Ethan Bakuli REPORTER, CHALKBEAT DETROIT ebakuli@chalkbeat.org

Matt Barnum NATIONAL REPORTER mbarnum@chalkbeat.org

Caroline Bauman COMMUNITY ENGAGEMENT MANAGER cbauman@chalkbeat.org

Kalyn Belsha NATIONAL REPORTER kbelsha@chalkbeat.org

Gabrielle Birkner STORY EDITOR gbirkner@chalkbeat.org

Johann Calhoun BUREAU CHIEF, CHALKBEAT PHILADELPHIA jcalhoun@chalkbeat.org

Catherine Carrera BUREAU CHIEF, CHALKBEAT NEWARK ccarrera@chalkbeat.org

Sarah Darville MANAGING EDITOR FOR NATIONAL sdarville@chalkbeat.org

Cara Fitzpatrick STORY EDITOR cfitzpatrick@chalkbeat.org

Jason Gonzales HIGHER EDUCATION REPORTER, CHALKBEAT COLORADO jgonzales@chalkbeat.org

Susan Gonzalez SOCIAL MEDIA STRATEGIST sgonzalez@chalkbeat.org

Eric Gorski MANAGING EDITOR FOR LOCAL NEWS egorski@chalkbeat.org

Catherine Green ENGAGEMENT EDITOR cgreen@chalkbeat.org

Eba Hamid-Rivera DIRECTOR OF AUDIENCE ehamid-rivera@chalkbeat.org

Lori Higgins BUREAU CHIEF, CHALKBEAT DETROIT lhiggins@chalkbeat.org

Jessica Huseman EDITORIAL DIRECTOR, VOTEBEAT jhuseman@votebeat.org

Eddie King DATA ANALYTICS MANAGER, eking@chalkbeat.org

Mila Koumpilova SENIOR REPORTER, CHALKBEAT CHICAGO mkoumpilova@chalkbeat.org

Koby Levin REPORTER, CHALKBEAT DETROIT klevin@chalkbeat.org

Chad Lorenz EDITOR IN CHIEF, VOTEBEAT clorenz@votebeat.org

Dan Lyon PHOTO EDITOR dlyon@chalkbeat.org

Dale Mezzacappa SENIOR REPORTER, CHALKBEAT PHILADELPHIA dmezzacappa@chalkbeat.org

Carrie Melago MANAGING EDITOR FOR LOCAL NEWS cmelago@chalkbeat.org

Erica Meltzer BUREAU CHIEF, CHALKBEAT COLORADO emeltzer@chalkbeat.org

Tracie Mauriello STATE EDUCATION POLICY REPORTER, CHALKBEAT DETROIT tmauriello@chalkbeat.org

Sharon Noguchi STORY EDITOR snoguchi@chalkbeat.org

Mauricio Peña REPORTER, CHALKBEAT CHICAGO mpena@chalkbeat.org

Mónica Rhor STORY EDITOR mrhor@chalkbeat.org

Yesenia Robles REPORTER, CHALKBEAT COLORADO yrobles@chalkbeat.org

Emiliana Sandoval MANAGING EDITOR FOR STYLE AND STANDARDS esandoval@chalkbeat.org

Ann Schimke SENIOR REPORTER AND COMMUNITY EDITOR, CHALKBEAT COLORADO aschimke@chalkbeat.org

Samantha Smylie REPORTER, CHALKBEAT CHICAGO ssmylie@chalkbeat.org

Cathryn Stout BUREAU CHIEF, CHALKBEAT TENNESSEE cstout@chalkbeat.org

Julie Topping STORY EDITOR jtopping@chalkbeat.org

Christina Veiga REPORTER, CHALKBEAT NEW YORK cveiga@chalkbeat.org

Cassie Walker Burke BUREAU CHIEF, CHALKBEAT CHICAGO cburke@chalkbeat.org

Patrick Wall SENIOR REPORTER, CHALKBEAT NEWARK pwall@chalkbeat.org

Stephanie Wang BUREAU CHIEF, CHALKBEAT INDIANA swang@chalkbeat.org

Samantha West REPORTER, CHALKBEAT TENNESSEE swest@chalkbeat.org

Thomas Wilburn SENIOR DATA EDITOR twilburn@chalkbeat.org

Amy Zimmer BUREAU CHIEF, CHALKBEAT NEW YORK azimmer@chalkbeat.org

Alex Zimmerman REPORTER, CHALKBEAT NEW YORK azimmerman@chalkbeat.org


Revenue, Strategy, and Operations

Sky Barsch DIRECTOR OF EARNED REVENUE sbarsch@chalkbeat.org

Brittany Bernardi RECRUITER bbernardi@chalkbeat.org

Lauren Bryant GRAPHIC DESIGNER & PROJECT MANAGER lbryant@chalkbeat.org

Meisha Cummings SENIOR STAFF ACCOUNTANT mcummings@chalkbeat.org

Dalia Dahir DEVELOPMENT OPERATIONS ASSOCIATE ddahir@chalkbeat.org

Scott Elliott DEPUTY REVENUE OFFICER selliott@chalkbeat.org

Tiahna Fletcher TALENT & RECRUITMENT COORDINATOR tfletcher@chalkbeat.org

Alexis Gannon PEOPLE OPERATIONS MANAGER agannon@chalkbeat.org

Bethanie Glaser CHIEF OF STAFF bglaser@chalkbeat.org

Katie Jimenez-Gray EXECUTIVE COMMUNICATIONS SPECIALIST kjimenez-gray@chalkbeat.org

Jennifer Jones CONTROLLER jjones@chalkbeat.org

Paula Matias SENIOR OPERATIONS MANAGER, REVENUE pmatias@chalkbeat.org

Stephanie Massawa ACCOUNTING MANAGER smassawa@chalkbeat.org

Esther Odle JUNIOR STAFF ACCOUNTANT eodle@chalkbeat.org

Kary Perez DIRECTOR OF PROGRAM INNOVATION kperez@chalkbeat.org

Myra Rosenbaum SENIOR DIRECTOR OF PEOPLE OPERATIONS mrosenbaum@chalkbeat.org

Alyssa Ross DEVELOPMENT MANAGER aross@chalkbeat.org

Kimberly Spencer SENIOR DIRECTOR OF DEVELOPMENT AND DONOR RELATIONS kspencer@chalkbeat.org

Melissa Villanueva PEOPLE OPERATIONS ASSOCIATE mvillanueva@chalkbeat.org

Laura Wendorf DEVELOPMENT OPERATIONS MANAGER lwendorf@chalkbeat.org

Lee Whack SENIOR DEVELOPMENT DIRECTOR lwhack@chalkbeat.org

Matt Yabor SPONSORSHIPS MANAGER myabor@chalkbeat.org