Our Staff

Leadership Team

Grid of headshots featuring Chalkbeat’s leadership team.

From left to right (top): Elizabeth Green, Co-Founder and CEO, Nicole Avery Nichols, Editor in Chief, Jennifer Bramble, Chief People Officer (bottom) Alison Go, Chief Strategy Officer, Kendra Irving, Chief Financial Officer, Amy Rosenblum, Chief Revenue Officer.

Elizabeth Green COFOUNDER & CEO egreen@chalkbeat.org

Elizabeth Green is the CEO and co-founder of Chalkbeat. She is also the cofounder and board chair of the American Journalism Project, the first venture philanthropy firm dedicated to local news. Elizabeth’s book Building a Better Teacher was a New York Times bestseller and notable book of 2014. She has also written about education issues for The New York Times Magazine, U.S. News & World Report, and other publications. Elizabeth has been a Spencer Fellow in education journalism at Columbia University and an Abe Journalism Fellow studying education in Japan.

Nicole Avery Nichols EDITOR-IN-CHIEF nvavery@chalkbeat.org

Nicole Avery Nichols —a journalist, storyteller, and media manager proficient in coalition building — is the editor-in-chief of Chalkbeat. Nicole started her career as a weekend reporter at the Observer-Dispatch in upstate New York more than two decades ago. As a reporter for various newspapers and magazines, Nicole has covered everything from immigrant resettlement to the Million Man March to the desperate search for lost loved ones after the 9/11 terrorist attacks. While rising through the editing ranks at the Detroit Free Press in the 2000s, she coordinated coverage of the coronavirus pandemic, the #MeToo movement, the opioid crisis, and much more. Nicole’s favorite journalism centers people, and her work continuously amplifies the voices of those who have historically been forced to whisper. A native New Yorker, Nicole completed her undergraduate studies at Tuskegee University and earned her master’s degree from the S.I. Newhouse School of Public Communications at Syracuse University.

Jennifer Bramble CHIEF PEOPLE OFFICER jbramble@chalkbeat.org

Prior to joining Chalkbeat, Jennifer Bramble served as chief talent officer of Richmond Public Schools, in Richmond, VA. With over twenty-five years’ experience serving mission-driven organizations, she specializes in human capital strategy, diversity, equity, and inclusion. As vice president of human resources with Community Health Accreditation Partner and assistant director of talent management at the National Committee for Quality Assurance, Jennifer spearheaded multifaceted talent development initiatives. A certified executive coach, she uses strength-based leadership development in coaching and mentoring professionals at all organizational levels. Jennifer holds a Bachelor of Arts degree in Business Management and a Master of Arts in Public Administration from Washington Adventist University.

Alison Go CHIEF STRATEGY OFFICER ago@chalkbeat.org

Alison Go is Chalkbeat’s chief strategy officer and co-founder of Votebeat. Previously, she was a product manager at Amazon, Facebook, and several venture capital-funded startups. Alison received her MBA from the Wharton School and a bachelor’s degree from the University of Michigan. In a former life, she was a reporter and copy editor at U.S. News & World Report, the Boston Globe, and the San Jose Mercury News.

Kendra Irving CHIEF FINANCIAL OFFICER kirving@chalkbeat.org

Kendra Irving is a CPA with over twenty years of experience as a finance executive overseeing complex financial reporting and analysis efforts. Prior to joining Chalkbeat, she held the roles of Vice President at the John Gore Organization and Director at HBO where she headed the finance functions with focus on strategic partnering and people-focused leading. Her financial management and business acumen have supported critical long-term business and financial decisions. She started her career at Ernst & Young, LLP as an auditor of clients in the consumer products industry and nonprofit sector. Kendra is a graduate of the University at Buffalo and holds an MBA from NYU.

Amy Rosenblum CHIEF REVENUE OFFICER arosenblum@chalkbeat.org

Before joining the Chalkbeat team, Amy Rosenblum built a career over 20 years focused on developing strong and thriving nonprofit organizations. Combining a passion for community-based work with the pragmatism of a business background, she worked as a researcher, fundraising, consultant, and small business owner. Growing up as the daughter of a journalist, Amy’s thrilled to bring her experience full circle to work with Chalkbeat. She holds a BA from Wesleyan University in Middletown, CT and an MBA from the Leeds School of Business at the University of Colorado – Boulder. 

Outside of work, you can find her hiking and playing with her husband, kids, and dogs along the trails in Boulder, CO. 


Editorial

Marta W. Aldrich SENIOR STATEHOUSE CORRESPONDENT, CHALKBEAT TENNESSEE maldrich@chalkbeat.org

Reema Amin REPORTER, CHALKBEAT NEW YORK ramin@chalkbeat.org

Krishnan Anantharaman STORY EDITOR kanantharaman@chalkbeat.org

Aleksandra Appleton REPORTER, CHALKBEAT INDIANA aappleton@chalkbeat.org

Melanie Asmar SENIOR REPORTER, CHALKBEAT COLORADO masmar@chalkbeat.org

Ethan Bakuli REPORTER, CHALKBEAT DETROIT ebakuli@chalkbeat.org

Matt Barnum NATIONAL REPORTER mbarnum@chalkbeat.org

Caroline Bauman COMMUNITY ENGAGEMENT MANAGER cbauman@chalkbeat.org

Kalyn Belsha NATIONAL REPORTER kbelsha@chalkbeat.org

Gabrielle Birkner FEATURES EDITOR gbirkner@chalkbeat.org

Johann Calhoun BUREAU CHIEF, CHALKBEAT PHILADELPHIA jcalhoun@chalkbeat.org

Catherine Carrera BUREAU CHIEF, CHALKBEAT NEWARK ccarrera@chalkbeat.org

Sarah Darville MANAGING EDITOR FOR NATIONAL sdarville@chalkbeat.org

Cara Fitzpatrick STORY EDITOR cfitzpatrick@chalkbeat.org

Jason Gonzales HIGHER EDUCATION REPORTER, CHALKBEAT COLORADO jgonzales@chalkbeat.org

Susan Gonzalez SOCIAL MEDIA STRATEGIST sgonzalez@chalkbeat.org

Eric Gorski MANAGING EDITOR FOR LOCAL NEWS egorski@chalkbeat.org

Catherine Green ENGAGEMENT EDITOR cgreen@chalkbeat.org

Eba Hamid-Rivera DIRECTOR OF AUDIENCE ehamid-rivera@chalkbeat.org

Lori Higgins BUREAU CHIEF, CHALKBEAT DETROIT lhiggins@chalkbeat.org

Eddie King DATA ANALYTICS MANAGER, eking@chalkbeat.org

Mila Koumpilova SENIOR REPORTER, CHALKBEAT CHICAGO mkoumpilova@chalkbeat.org

Koby Levin REPORTER, CHALKBEAT DETROIT klevin@chalkbeat.org

Dan Lyon PHOTO EDITOR dlyon@chalkbeat.org

Dale Mezzacappa SENIOR REPORTER, CHALKBEAT PHILADELPHIA dmezzacappa@chalkbeat.org

Carrie Melago MANAGING EDITOR FOR LOCAL NEWS cmelago@chalkbeat.org

Erica Meltzer BUREAU CHIEF, CHALKBEAT COLORADO emeltzer@chalkbeat.org

Tracie Mauriello STATE EDUCATION POLICY REPORTER, CHALKBEAT DETROIT tmauriello@chalkbeat.org

Sharon Noguchi STORY EDITOR snoguchi@chalkbeat.org

Mauricio Peña REPORTER, CHALKBEAT CHICAGO mpena@chalkbeat.org

Kae Petrin DATA AND GRAPHICS REPORTER kpetrin@chalkbeat.org

Mónica Rhor STORY EDITOR mrhor@chalkbeat.org

Yesenia Robles REPORTER, CHALKBEAT COLORADO yrobles@chalkbeat.org

Cam Rodriguez DATA AND GRAPHICS REPORTER crodriguez@chalkbeat.org

Emiliana Sandoval MANAGING EDITOR FOR STYLE AND STANDARDS esandoval@chalkbeat.org

Ann Schimke SENIOR REPORTER AND COMMUNITY EDITOR, CHALKBEAT COLORADO aschimke@chalkbeat.org

Samantha Smylie REPORTER, CHALKBEAT CHICAGO ssmylie@chalkbeat.org

Cathryn Stout BUREAU CHIEF, CHALKBEAT TENNESSEE cstout@chalkbeat.org

Julie Topping STORY EDITOR jtopping@chalkbeat.org

Andrew Ujifusa STORY EDITOR aujifusa@chalkbeat.org

Christina Veiga REPORTER, CHALKBEAT NEW YORK cveiga@chalkbeat.org

Patrick Wall SENIOR REPORTER, CHALKBEAT NEWARK pwall@chalkbeat.org

Stephanie Wang BUREAU CHIEF, CHALKBEAT INDIANA swang@chalkbeat.org

Samantha West REPORTER, CHALKBEAT TENNESSEE swest@chalkbeat.org

Thomas Wilburn SENIOR DATA EDITOR twilburn@chalkbeat.org

Amy Zimmer BUREAU CHIEF, CHALKBEAT NEW YORK azimmer@chalkbeat.org

Alex Zimmerman REPORTER, CHALKBEAT NEW YORK azimmerman@chalkbeat.org


Revenue, Strategy, and Operations

Sky Barsch DIRECTOR OF EARNED REVENUE sbarsch@chalkbeat.org

Safiyyah Bazemore PEOPLE OPERATIONS ASSISTANT sbazemore@chalkbeat.org

Brittany Bernardi TALENT ACQUISITION MANAGER bbernardi@chalkbeat.org

Lauren Bryant GRAPHIC DESIGNER & PROJECT MANAGER lbryant@chalkbeat.org

Meisha Cummings SENIOR STAFF ACCOUNTANT mcummings@chalkbeat.org

Dalia Dahir DEVELOPMENT OPERATIONS ASSOCIATE ddahir@chalkbeat.org

Scott Elliott DEPUTY REVENUE OFFICER selliott@chalkbeat.org

Tiahna Fletcher TALENT & RECRUITMENT COORDINATOR tfletcher@chalkbeat.org

Alexis Gannon PEOPLE OPERATIONS MANAGER agannon@chalkbeat.org

Bethanie Glaser CHIEF OF STAFF bglaser@chalkbeat.org

Katie Jimenez-Gray EXECUTIVE COMMUNICATIONS SPECIALIST kjimenez-gray@chalkbeat.org

Jennifer Jones CONTROLLER jjones@chalkbeat.org

Paula Matias SENIOR OPERATIONS MANAGER, REVENUE pmatias@chalkbeat.org

Stephanie Massawa ACCOUNTING MANAGER smassawa@chalkbeat.org

Esther Odle JUNIOR STAFF ACCOUNTANT eodle@chalkbeat.org

CJ Ortuño VP OF PHILANTHROPY cortuno@chalkbeat.org

Kary Perez DIRECTOR OF PROGRAM INNOVATION kperez@chalkbeat.org

Martha Raffaele GRANTS MANAGER mraffaele@chalkbeat.org

Nicholas Ratcliffe SYSTEMS ARCHITECT nratcliffe@chalkbeat.org

Anakaren Rios STAFF ACCOUNTANT arios@chalkbeat.org

Leah Robinson PAYROLL & BENEFITS ASSOCIATE lrobinson@chalkbeat.org

Alyssa Ross DEVELOPMENT MANAGER aross@chalkbeat.org

Melissa Villanueva PEOPLE OPERATIONS ASSOCIATE mvillanueva@chalkbeat.org

Laura Wendorf DEVELOPMENT OPERATIONS MANAGER lwendorf@chalkbeat.org

Lee Whack SENIOR DEVELOPMENT DIRECTOR lwhack@chalkbeat.org

Matt Yabor SPONSORSHIPS MANAGER myabor@chalkbeat.org


Learn about the Votebeat editorial team here.