Voter guide: We asked Aurora school board candidates some questions. Here’s what they said.

A group of children stand outside.

Voters in Aurora this year are selecting up to three new members to sit on the school board for Aurora Public Schools. 

Aurora school board seats are all at-large, meaning every voter in the district gets to vote for their top three candidates, and the top vote-getters win the seats. The board has seven members.

Five candidates are running for the three seats on the Nov. 7 ballot: Max Garcia, incumbent Vicki Reinhard, Maria Saucedo, Danielle Tomwing, and Tiffany Tasker. 

The Aurora teachers union, which has struggled to reach a pay agreement with the district this year, has endorsed Reinhard, Tomwing, and Tasker.

We asked school board candidates the same set of questions to help voters know more about each candidate before voting. Read their answers below. Responses may have been edited for formatting, but otherwise each candidate’s answers are as submitted.

Saucedo did not respond to any of the questions.

Yesenia Robles is a reporter for Chalkbeat Colorado covering K-12 school districts and multilingual education. Contact Yesenia at

The Latest

Mayor Eric Adams has argued that the limits are necessary to relieve severe overcrowding in the city’s shelter amid an unprecedented and ongoing influx of migrants.

Teacher Kali Burks shared stories from her first year teaching eighth grade.

Los niños sin hogar tienen ciertos derechos destinados a mantener la estabilidad para ellos en la escuela, incluida la capacidad de permanecer en la escuela a la que han estado asistiendo.

The district is still working to shorten bus rides for more than 100 students with disabilities to comply with state law.

Lee’s plan seeks to eliminate income requirements and change who could benefit.

With initiatives targeted at specific schools, neighborhoods, or family needs, they’re chipping away at a problem that has long undermined efforts to improve student achievement.